Czech Figure Skating

  • Czech figure skating history is full of big successes. The oldest ones date back even to the period before World War II when pair of Eliška and Oskar Hoppe finished on the third place at the World Championships in Vienna 1927.

    In the second half of the last century Czech figure skating has moved among the most successfull figure skating countries.

    One of the most significant women in Czech and world figure skating Ája Vrzáňová became famous thanks to being two times World Champion (1949 and 1950). Karol Divin excelled on the ice as well, he became European Champion 1958 and 1959, he won silver medal at the Winter Olympics in Squaw Valley 1960, and two years later he finished second at the World Championships in Prague.

    Vera Suchánková and Zdeněk Doležal added another medals into the collection as being European champions in 1957 and 1958 and getting silver from the World Championships in Bratislava 1958.

    Eva Romanová and Pavel Roman were the most famous siblings of Czech ice dancing in the history. They won the European championships four times and became triple world champions in the years 1962-1965.

    Another European Champion (from 1968) Hana Mašková was even successfull at the Winter Olympics – she finished third in Grenoble 1968.

    The overall most successful figure skater of former Czechoslovakia was a Slovak Ondrej Nepela, five-time European champion, three-time World champion (1969 – 1973) and Olympic Champion from Sapporo 1972. His success was followed by his countryman Josef Sabovčík, who became European champion three times (1985-1987).

    Not to forget the pairs Radka Kovaříková – Rene Novotný celebrated the gold medal at ISU World FIgure Skating Champipnships in Birmingham 1995.

    Other successes of Czech “colors” belong to Petr Barna, European champion from Lausanne 1992 and Tomáš Verner, who won the European gold in Zagreb 2008.

    Ostrava is a successful in organization and among competitors as well

    Ostrava is known not only by hosting many figure skating events, figure skaters coming from Ostrava are also very successful: in the past people based in Ostrava reach the top international events: for example siblings Jan Šrámek, Bohunka Šrámková in pairs, Stanislav Drastich and Jan Bartak in ice dance and René Novotny as the World Champion in pairs.

    In the recent past many other figure skaters reached the national titles and has competed at the ISU Junior World Figure Skating Championships, the ISU European Figure Skating Championships and ISU World Figure Skating Championships.

    Names like Lukas Rakowski, Eva Chudá, Nella Simaová, Alexandra Herbríková-Luke Ovčáček (later Alexandra Herbríková-Rudy Halmaert), or Petr Coufal are well known not only to the public of Ostrava.


    1972 Sapporo Ondrej Nepela
    1960 Squaw Valley Karol Divín
     1968  Grenoble  Hana Mašková
     1984  Sarajevo  Jozef Sabovčík
     1992  Albertville  Petr Barna
    1949 Paris Ája Vrzáňová
    1950 London Ája Vrzáňová
    1962 Praha Eva a Pavel Romanovi (ice dance)
    1963 Cortina Eva a Pavel Romanovi (ice dance)
    1964 Dortmund Eva a Pavel Romanovi (ice dance)
    1965 Colorado Springs Eva a Pavel Romanovi (ice dance)
    1971 Lyon Ondrej Nepela
    1972 Calgary Ondrej Nepela
    1973 Bratislava Ondrej Nepela
    1995 Birmingham Radka Kovaříková, René Novotný (pairs)
    1958 Paris Věra Suchánková, Zdeněk Doležal (pairs)
    1962 Praha Karol Divín
    1969 Colorado Springs Ondrej Nepela
    1970 Lubljana Ondrej Nepela
    1992 Oakland Radka Kovaříková, René Novotný (pairs)
    1927 Wien Eliška a Oskar Hoppeovi (pairs)
    1948 Davos Jiřina Nekolová
    1964 Dortmund Karol Divín
    1967 Wien Hana Mašková
    1968 Geneve Hana Mašková
    1950 Oslo Ája Vrzáňová
    1957 Wien Věra Suchánková, Zdeněk Doležal (pairs)
    1958 Bratislava Karol Divín
    1958 Bratislava Věra Suchánková, Zdeněk Doležal (pairs)
    1959 Davos Karol Divín
    1964 Grenoble Eva a Pavel Romanovi  (ice dance)
    1965 Moskva Eva a Pavel Romanovi  (ice dance)
    1968 Västeras Hana Mašková
    1969 Garmisch-Partenkirchen Ondrej Nepela
    1970 Leningrad Ondrej Nepela
    1971 Curych Ondrej Nepela
    1972 Göteborg Ondrej Nepela
    1973 Köln Ondrej Nepela
    1985 Göteborg Jozef Sabovčík
    1986 Copenhagen Jozef Sabovčík
    1992 Lausanne Petr Barna
    2008 Zagreb Tomáš Verner
    1930 Berlin Otto Gold
    1947 Davos Vladislav Čáp
    1948 Praha Blažena Knittlová, Karel Vosátka (pairs)
    1949 Milano Ája Vrzáňová
    1955 Budapest Věra Suchánková, Zdeněk Doležal (pairs)
    1957 Wien Karol Divín
    1962 Geneve Karol Divín
    1963 Budapest Eva a Pavel Romanovi  (ice dance)
    1967 Lubljana Hana Mašková
    1969 Garmisch-Partenkirchen Hana Mašková
    1983 Dortmund Jozef Sabovčík
     1990 Leningrad Petr Barna
    1991 Sofia Petr Barna
    1992 Lausanne Radka Kovaříková, René Novotný (pairs)
    1995 Dortmund Radka Kovaříková, René Novotný (pairs)
    2007 Warsaw Tomáš Verner
    1948 Praha Ája Vrzáňová
    1954 Bolzano Karol Divín
    1954 Bolzano Soňa Balůnová, Miroslav Balůn (pairs)
    1955 Budapest Karol Divín
    1956 Paris Karol Divín
    1961 Berlin Jana Mrázková
    1962 Geneve Eva a Pavel Romanovi  (ice dance)
    1964 Grenoble Karol Divín
    1966 Bratislava Ondrej Nepela
    1966 Bratislava Jitka Babická, Jaromír Holan  (ice dance)
    1967 Lubljana Ondrej Nepela
    1968 Västeras Ondrej Nepela
    1974 Zagreb Liana Drahová
    1989 Birmingham Petr Barna
    2011 Bern Tomáš Verner
    2013  Zagreb  Michal Březina